THE COLOR IN ANYTHING

Red

Apples from the grocery store,

Roses,

Cheeks in winter,

Your cheeks every day,

Your bed sheets,

The blood

 

Orange

Sunsets,

Fruit of the summer,

Summer,

The year we met,

The year we broke up,

The sunset after

 

Yellow

The sunrise,

The next day,

The song we used to play,

Our song,

Our Song,

The sun,

Your skin

 

Green

The grass,

The leaves on the trees,

Greed,

The time you wanted more,

The opposite of me,

Tea,

Your favorite

 

Blue

The sky,

My favorite thing on earth,

Berries in the summer,

My heart,

My favorite,

Your favorite,

Messages not sent

 

Purple

The bruises on my thighs,

The lips on my neck,

The color of your couch,

My used-to-be favorite,

No longer there,

Ghost

 

Black 

The world when you left,

Darkness,

My hair in any light,

My favorite colored pen,

The ink in my journal,

The poems I write to get away

 

Leave a Reply

