Critically acclaimed

There is nothing I wish more than to forget,

there is I nothing more selfish,

more self-preserving,

than the gift of forgetting—

of letting go.

 

Forget to think of him,

        teach me how I should forget to think!

 

 

I must let go.

 

No matter how hopeless,

       promise me now, and never let go of that promise.

 

I continue to immortalize him in the way that a

widow immortalizes her late husband,

but I am the forgotten mistress that

keeps quiet during the burial ceremony.

 

I am the one being buried here tonight.

As he is laid to rest, so is my memory.

 

I continue to write about you, but you have already

been immortalized by someone else.

 

What happened, why didn’t it work out?

        What always happens.

            Life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

