Tea and Honey

your voice is like tea and honey

I take a sip of you

and my tongue is scalding

I swallow you whole, and

you coat my throat with

your honey

your voice burns my tongue

 

your hands trace my body like

you are searching for my soul

hands scavenge this body for meat

for my heart

when you do not find it within me

you find it in somebody else

leaving this flesh

half enjoyed,

admired,

loved

 

your arms hold me captive

keeping me close in fear of

losing your property

you feast on my flesh

as your arms curve

and choke me

I am gasping for air

I am dying by your hand

 

your body is comprised of oil

repelling anything less dense

than your soul

I am a flowing river, reaching out

to my lover

we crash

but only for a moment

eventually separating

never to meet again

 

d.p.

Leave a Reply

